Oct 26
GERSHWIN: Rhapsodies

GERSHWIN: Rhapsodies

Presented by Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra at Western Michigan University - Miller Auditorium

Charting a musical voyage from Tin Pan Alley to St. Petersburg.

One of the great American composers of the Jazz age, Gershwin’s two Rhapsodies for piano and orchestra are the highlight of the evening. With Gershwin’s distinctly American style, the orchestra will be crowing like a big band. Two orchestral showpieces—featuring the orchestra in all its virtuosity—open and close the program.

Conductor: Daniel Brier, KSO Resident Conductor
Guest Soloist: Kevin Cole, piano

LIGETI: Concert Românesc
GERSHWIN: Rhapsody in Blue
                                Kevin Cole, piano
New York Rhapsody
                                Kevin Cole, piano
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV: Capriccio espagnol

Admission Info

Purchase your tickets early and save! Choose three or more concerts to subscribe and save on your ticket price. Subscriptions accepted now; single-concert tickets are available August 15, 2019.

Subscription ticket prices: $22-$54
Single-concert ticket prices: $24-$60 (available August 15, 2019)
Student ticket prices: 50% off (or choose $5 rush tickets at the door on concert night)
Super Senior symphonic subscription rate: $16 (specific seating zones only)

Phone: 269-349-7759

Email: info@kalamazoosymphony.com

Dates & Times

2019/10/26 - 2019/10/26

  • Oct 26, 2019 at 08:00 pm (Sat)

Additional time info:

We recommend attending our Wiser Financial Prelude, from 7-7:30 p.m., prior to each Symphonic Series concert. These popular talks help guide you through interesting details of the program and might even introduce the soloist.

Immediately after each Symphonic Series concert, stick around for “AfterWORDS,” an interactive discussion between the conductor, soloist, and audience.

Location Info

Western Michigan University - Miller Auditorium

2200 Auditorium Drive, Kalamazoo, MI 49008